• English
  • Deutsch


With the StarthilfePlus programme, returnees in over 40 destination countries can receive additional financial assistance or in kind reintegration assistance in addition to the REAG/GARP-Programme. The following options are available:

1. Financial support in the destination country (2nd financial start-up assistance after 6-8 months)

As of January 2019, migrants who voluntarily return with IOM under the REAG/GARP-Programme and receive start-up assistance in Germany, can receive further financial assistance in the following destination countries: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, China, Côte d'Ivoire, DR Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, India, Iraq, Cameroon, Kenya, Mali, Mongolia, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe

​2. Reintegration component of Housing

As of January 2019, migrants who voluntarily return with IOM under the REAG/GARP-Programme and receive financial start-up assistance, can get additional reintegration assistance in housing: Armenia (till 30/09/2019), Azerbaijan, Iran, Lebanon, Tajikistan, Turkey

3. Reintegration of long-term tolerated stay

As of January 2019, migrants returning to their country of origin through the REAG/GARP-Programme and having been tolerated to stay in Germany for at least two years may receive supplementary reintegration assistance in housing and medical costs in the following destination countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Moldova

Further information on the StarthilfePlus supplementary reintegration measures and the REAG/GARP return programme can be found on the information portal for voluntary return and reintegration.


Contact person at the International Organization for Migration in Germany:

Dorothee Krahn

Tel.: +49 911 4300 133




Please find the application forms and info sheets for StarthilfePlus as well as other project materials on the information portal ReturningfromGermany.